The Karolinska Kidney Research Center – KaroKidney – is a translational kidney research cluster based in Stockholm, Sweden. KaroKidney promotes programs for synergistic collaborations between basic and clinical researchers that will lead to discoveries and better healthcare strategies aimed at improving outcome for patients with kidney disease.

KaroKidney’s expanding biobank currently contains more than 800 renal biopsies (>450 native kidney biopsies from adult patients, 150 pediatric patients, 150 living donors and > 50 transplanted patients) and more than 150 arterial biopsies from patients with kidney disease and healthy controls. The tissue is stored in ways that allows analysis of both morphology and RNA/protein expression.

KaroKidney – Winter 2016

njurbiopsi-grupp-5987

An alphabetic list of KaroKidney researchers:

Abdul Rashid Qureshi tony.qureshi@ki.se

Angelina Schwarz angelina.schwarz@ki.se

Anna Levin anna.levin@ki.se

Anneli Lindberg anneli.lindberg@regionstockholm.se

Annette Bruchfeld annette.bruchfeld@ki.se

Annika Östman Wernerson annika.wernerson@ki.se

Ásta Dögg Jónasdóttir  asta.jonasdottir@ki.se

Charikleia Chrysostomou charikleia.chrysostomou@regionstockholm.se

Emelie Westergren emelie.westergren@regionstockholm.se

Hannes Olauson hannes.olauson@ki.se

Helen Erlandsson helen.erlandsson@ki.se

Helena Genberg helena.genberg@regionstockholm.se

Jaakko Patrakka jaakko.patrakka@ki.se

Jessica Smolander jessica.smolander@regionstockholm.se

Johan Nordström johan.nordstrom@regionstockholm.se

Julia Wijkstrom julia.wijkstrom@ki.se

Karolina Kublickiene Karolina.Kublickiene@ki.se

Kjell Hultenby kjell.hultenby@ki.se

Lars Wennberg lars.wennberg@regionstockholm.se

Lu Dai lu.dai@ki.se

Magnus Söderberg magnus.soderberg@astrazeneca.com

Maria Herthelius maria.herthelius@regionstockholm.se

Marie Evans marie.evans@ki.se

Marie Jeansson marie.jeansson@ki.se

Milan Chromek milan.chromek@regionstockholm.se

Olle Dahlberg hans.dahlberg@regionstockholm.se

Olof Heimburger olof.heimburger@ki.se

Peter Barany Peter.barany@regionstockholm.se 

Peter Hemmingsson peter.hemmingsson@regionstockholm.se 

Peter Stenvinkel peter.stenvinkel@ki.se

Sabina Thompson  sabina.thompson@regionstockholm.se

Sam Hobson sam.hobson@ki.se

Samsul Arefin samsul.arefin@ki.se

Thomas Ebert (thomas.ebert@ki.se)

Torbjörn Lundgren (torbjorn.lundgren@regionstockholm.se

Ulrika Jensen Durgé ulrika.jensen-durge@regionstockholm.se

Yvonne Ekelöw yvonne.ekelow@regionstockholm.se


Patient representative:
Björn Nilsson

  • Swedish Kidney Foundation. National patient organisation. Vice chairman and treasurer.
  • Swedish Kidney Foundation Stockholm Gotland. Regional patient organisation. Chair and treasurer.
  • Njurfonden. Fundraising organisation. Board member and treasurer.
  • Livet som Gåva. Patient organisation. Board member and treasurer.